SCHUBERT, F.: String Quartet No. 13 (Hugo Wolf Quartett)

SCHUBERT, F.: String Quartet No. 13 (Hugo Wolf Quartett)


You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)

Schubert, Franz - Composer
String Quartet No. 13 in A minor, Op. 29, No. 1, D. 804

Venue: Grosser Saal, Mozarteum, Salzburg
Playing Time: 00:36:11
Television Director: Hohlfeld, Horant
Catalogue Number: A05508947

Within just a few years, the Hugo Wolf Quartet has transformed itself from an insider's tip to one of the most sought-after ensembles of the younger generation. "New stars in the quartet firmament" was the headline of a review of the quartet's debut in the Vienna Musikverein in 1995. Tours have taken the ensemble to the most important concert halls of the world: Concertgebouw Amsterdam, Philharmonie in Cologne, Megaron in Athens, Palais des Beaux-Arts in Brussels, Symphony Hall in Birmingham and Carnegie Hall in New York. Moreover, the Hugo Wolf Quartet has also guested at the Edinburgh Festival, the Schubertiade Feldkirch, the Carinthian Summer, the Salzburg Mozarteum, the Herkules-Saal in Munich and Suntory Hall in Tokyo. The basis for this international success was laid by four students who got together in 1993 in Vienna and devoted themselves to a joint training with the Alban Berg Quartet, members of the Amadeus Quartet and Walter Levin (LaSalle Quartet). They then won the first prize at the String Quartet Competition in Cremona and made their highly acclaimed debut at the Vienna Konzerthaus. Further awards have confirmed their exceptional artistic status. Today, the Hugo Wolf Quartet consists of the founding members Jehi Bahk (Violin I), Régis Bringolf (Violin II), Florian Berner (Violoncello) and Vladimir Kossyanenko, who has been the violist of the ensemble since 1998.

Part 1

Select language: