CLASSIC ARCHIVE: Martha Argerich Celebration (A)

CLASSIC ARCHIVE: Martha Argerich Celebration (A)


You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)
Conductor: Previn, Andre

Date of Concert: 1977
Playing Time: 01:01:48
Catalogue Number: EUROARTS7985

This video from the Classic Archive collection presents two unreleased performances filmed by BBC television in 1977: celebrated pianist Martha Argerich plays Prokofiev's Piano Concerto No. 3 and the Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No. 1. Both pieces are technically demanding and prove to be an ideal vehicle for Argerich's musical inspiration, demonstrating why she is hailed as one of the world's leading musicians. She is joined by the London Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Andre Previn, and the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, under the baton of Sir Charles Groves, in two powerhouse performances that offer a unique glimpse into our classical music heritage.

Part 1

Select language: