EUROPA-KONZERT 2010 FROM OXFORD (Weilerstein, Barenboim)

EUROPA-KONZERT 2010 FROM OXFORD (Weilerstein, Barenboim)


You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)

Wagner, Richard - Composer
Elgar, Edward - Composer
Brahms, Johannes - Composer

Venue: Sheldonian Theatre, Oxford
Date of Concert: 01-05-2010
Playing Time: 01:30:00
Television Director: Huw, Rhodri
Catalogue Number: EuroArts5806
UPC: 880242580689

May morning in Oxford, and the Berliner Philharmoniker join in the celebratory mood abroad in the university city's medieval streets with this concert in Sir Christopher Wren's glorious Sheldonian Theatre. For 20 years, the Philharmoniker have given a May Day concert in one of Europe's great historic cities, and here, under the baton of Daniel Barenboim, the Berlin players thrill the Oxford audience with the sonorous Prelude to Act III of Wagner's Die Meistersinger, a deeply-felt account of Elgar's autumnal Cello Concerto by the young American cellist Alisa Weilerstein, and a rousing performance of Brahms's life-affirming First Symphony.

Part 1

Select language: