TCHAIKOVSKY, P.I.: Ballet Masterpieces (Fonteyn, Somes) (1954-1959)

TCHAIKOVSKY, P.I.: Ballet Masterpieces (Fonteyn, Somes) (1954-1959)


You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)
The Sleeping Beauty, Op. 66

Swan Lake, Op. 20

The Nutcracker, Op. 71
Choreographer: Wright, Peter
Original Choreographer: Ivanov, Lev

Nutcracker Prince: Somes, Michael
Sugar Plum Fairy: Fonteyn, Margot

Conductor: Rignold, Hugo

Playing Time: 01:12:07
Catalogue Number: ICAD5050
UPC: 5060244550506

Exceptional studio productions from the late 1950s, all three of the Tchaikovsky ballet performances featured on this video are released for the first time. The perfect partners, Margot Fonteyn and Michael Somes give stunning performances with Fonteyn at her most beguiling as Aurora in Sleeping Beauty – the ballet in which she and the Sadler's Wells Ballet made their historic American debut in 1949.

The ICA Classics Legacy series presents a collection of historic performances by some of the world's greatest artists. These performances are released on DVD for the first time, incorporating rare archive footage that has been expertly and lovingly restored.

Part 1


Select language: